Reading reflections in the Bookinglass

An expat with a love of fiction

One Inspirational Image – Lyra Asleep in the Snow

with one comment

Pullman's printNow, when I say: I am a huge fan of Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy, you probably will shake your head and say ‘So what? His books are famous’, but honestly I am not just jumping on the bandwagon of his success or the controversy surrounding his writing. I mention this now because I came across these Oaktree Fine Press prints which take me back to reading the first book, Northern Lights, as a 12 year old. I would love to own one… *wistful sigh*….but what would I do with it?

I was recently watching the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra on TV with my Grandad. Thankfully, Grandad fell asleep before he could change the channel to Poirot and I got to watch a short programme in which Jacqueline Wilson, another favourite children’s author who has won or been shortlisted for more literary prizes than you can shake a stick at, showed us around the room where she writes at home. She had a strange collection of creepy monkey dolls but something that has stuck in my mind most is the illustration above her writing desk which she said inspires her. One image that inspires someone each time they look at it. This would be one helluva mighty powerful picture.

So what would my image be? I think one of Pullman’s illustrations: The mystery, beauty and isolation of the Arctic North, the comfort of a soul in animal form, the strength and melancholy of the heroine Lyra, the vulnerability of human form, the escapism of dreaming. This inspires me. What about you?

Written by bookinglass

May 12, 2010 at 2:08 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. loooooooooove this phil! love the print, and love the last paragraph. stunning. yummy and so unpretentious :). refreshing.

    Laura

    May 14, 2010 at 10:58 pm


Leave a Reply

