Reading reflections in the Bookinglass

An expat with a love of fiction

Selfridges Window Display

with one comment

Empire of the Sun window display

Selfridges, London has never really impressed me. Every time I have stumbled past this monolith of consumerism in the Oxford Street mayhem it seems too bleak, busy and exclusive for the likes of me. But my imminent departure from the UK (for a jooooob!!) has created a curious see-the-world-through-fresh-eyes effect on me. So I went to the mother of all department stores again but this time with a good helping of touristy awe and gawp.

selfridges window display may

The concept behind the May window display is the visualisation of a song, created by famous musicians and singers, such as Paloma Faith and Dizzee Rascal.  These two displays were my faves, the blue lions are the creation of Empire of the Sun and the heartfelt robot by Marina and the Diamonds.  But they were all much more impressive than the inside of the building. Flashy and bold and ‘Oh look at the Artyness of it all’.

I did see the toasted ants on sale which according to the (braver than me) Little London Observationalist taste of ‘Crispy, fried bacon with a soft meaty centre and crunchy, salty, pop-corn textured outer shell.’ I went for more traditional British fayre: Chocolate.

Written by bookinglass

June 1, 2010 at 9:04 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Haha… cheers for the link. And trust me, if I didn’t have a Colombian who insisted the ants were out of this world, I wouldn’t have ventured anywhere near them either. Chocolate? Always a winner. 🙂 Now, chocolate covered ants….hmm….


Leave a Reply

