Reading reflections in the Bookinglass

An expat with a love of fiction

Hitler, Pink Rabbit, Mog and Judith

with 3 comments

I think my love of Judith Kerr’s children’s books is only surpassed by that of my Mum. She is a primary school librarian after all. The next moment I see her I am showing her this wonderful interview with Judith on the Guardian Books website. Please go ahead and enjoy the interview too.

It reminds me of all the adventures in her semi-autobiographical novel ‘When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit’. I must read this again soon to experience the ups and downs of living a childhood in different countries as a refugee from Nazi Germany (this is a better review). I will probably see it very differently now I am living in Germany and because I also grew up within a different culture (I never saw the parallels at the time I first read it).

Whose interest couldn’t be piqued by the book title alone? I am surprised that nothing is mentioned of this book in this article about children’s war fiction. Perhaps because it is one of the “old-school” representations of the  effects of war on children, rather than anything new and controversial as Little Soldier. I asked my mum what she thought of children being introduced to war and the idea of child soldiers (the subject of Little Soldier) and she highlights the fact that what most children find most scary and sad is the idea of being taken away from their families. In the video on the BBC article the children’s views completely reflect what my mum noticed.

And as to her Mog the Cat books…ahhh…all I can say is that our family’s cat could well be a kindred spirit of Mog.

Do you think he dreams of flying like Mog does or being a whale?

Written by bookinglass

January 20, 2011 at 10:20 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aw that photo is so sweet! What a beautiful quilt as well!
    It’s interesting with childrens books with somewhat “adult” topics. I remember reading the Maus comics (about the holocaust) when I was around 12, and absolutely loved them!

    Lisa

    February 16, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    • Maus Sounds fascinating! I have informed my mum to add them to her library, although it might still be controversial! The quilt is Ikea’s finest… haha 🙂 I actually have a real quilt now that I picked up for free from a family who left Germany.

      bookinglass

      February 16, 2011 at 9:04 pm

  2. Aaaah, such a lovely photo!

    You have absolutely taken me back to my past. I must have read When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit about 25 years ago and while I remembered The Silver Sword and I Am David, I totally forgot about this one. I’ve read Sarah’s Key and Annexed recently, which I’d recommend.

    Emm

    February 23, 2011 at 11:37 pm


Leave a Reply

